

Andy Beshear

CABINET FOR HEALTH AND FAMILY SERVICES

Eric Friedlander
SECRETARY

275 East Main Street, 5W-A Frankfort, Kentucky 40621 Phone: (502) 564-7042 Fax: (502) 564-7091

Statewide News Release Media Contact: Susan Dunlap

502-206-0245

susan.dunlap@ky.gov

Gov. Beshear: Application Period Extended for Disaster Food Benefits Following Catastrophic Flooding

Kentuckians who live, work in 12 counties in federal disaster declaration can now apply through Sept. 2

FRANKFORT, Ky. (Aug. 31, 2022) – Today, Gov. Andy Beshear announced that the application period has been extended to apply for disaster food benefits in Eastern Kentucky. Residents and people working in 12 counties that suffered significant damage from flooding, landslides and mudslides that resulted from storms that began on July 26 now have until Sept. 2 – two extra days – to apply for the benefits.

In July, at the Governor's request, President Joseph R. Biden issued a major disaster declaration in Breathitt, Clay, Floyd, Knott, Leslie, Letcher, Magoffin, Martin, Owsley, Perry, Pike and Whitley counties, which paved the way for Disaster Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program benefits (D-SNAP). The U.S. Department of Agriculture Food and Nutrition Service issues the benefits, and application submissions began Aug. 24. The original application period ended today, but Kentucky's Cabinet for Health and Family Services, which administers D-SNAP, sought and received federal approval to operate the program through Friday.

Application Process

Applicants should call the cabinet's Department for Community Based Services' (DCBS) center for D-SNAP at **833-371-8570**, the fastest way to receive benefits. Applications will be taken by phone from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. EST through Friday.

Applications may be made in person at a Department for Community Based Services office or at a Disaster Recovery Center. Here are the locations and hours of operations:



Day	Date 2022	Application	Hours for	Hours for	Hours for
		Times (Call	county	Disaster	Disaster
		Services)	offices/D-	Recovery	Recovery
		Eastern	SNAP sites	Centers, Knott	Center in Floyd
		Standard Time	open for	and Letcher	County; site open
		1-	applications	County sites	for applications
		833-371-8570	and to pick up	open for	and to pick up
			D- SNAP cards	applications and to pick up	D- SNAP cards
				D- SNAP cards	
Wednesday	Aug. 31	8 a.m.–4:30	8 a.m.–5 pm.	7 a.m.–7 p.m.	9 a.m.–7 p.m.
		p.m.			
Thursday	Sept. 1	8 a.m4:30	8 a.m.–5 pm.	7 a.m.–7 p.m.	9 a.m.–7 p.m.
		p.m.			
Friday	Sept. 2	8 a.m4:30	8 a.m.–5 pm.	7 a.m.–6 p.m.	9 a.m.–6 p.m.
		p.m.			

Applications may be made in-person at a DCBS office at county office addresses below through Friday, Sept. 2, 8 a.m. –5 p.m. Applications may also be made at the Disaster Recovery Centers at the address below, operating at hours extended beyond the operations of phone lines or the local DCBS office. The Knott and Letcher County Disaster Recovery Centers will be open Wednesday, Aug. 31, and Thursday, Sept. 1, from 7 a.m. –7 p.m. and Friday, Sept. 2, from 7 a.m. –6 p.m. The Floyd County Disaster Recovery Center will be open Wednesday and Thursday, Sept. 1, from 9 a.m. –7 p.m. and Friday, Sept. 2, from 9 a.m. –6 p.m. All times are Eastern Standard Time.

Breathitt County DCBS Office

355 Broadway Street Jackson

Clay County DCBS Office

25 Marcum Hill Road Manchester

Floyd County DCBS Office

311 North Arnold Ave., Suite 403 Prestonsburg

Floyd County Disaster Recovery Center- different hours of operation from Knott and Letcher Disaster Recovery Center

Christian Appalachian Project Foley Community Center 94 Academy Way Martin

Knott County DCBS Office

125 Cowtown Road HWY 550 West Hindman Knott County Disaster Recovery Center Knott County Sports Plex 450 Kenny Champion Loop #8765 Leburn

Leslie County DCBS Office

21150 HWY 421 South Hyden

Letcher County DCBS Office

415 Hwy. 2034 Suite B Whitesburg

Letcher County Disaster Recovery Center, Letcher County Recreation Center 1505 Jenkins Road Whitesburg

Magoffin County DCBS Office

30 South Church Street Salversville

Martin County DCBS Office

104 East Main Street, Suite 200 Inez

Owsley County DCBS Office

33 HWY 11 South Booneville

Perry County DCBS Office

1332 South KY HWY 15 Hazard

Pike County DCBS Office

295 Hambley Blvd. Pikeville

Whitley County DCBS Office

1000 South US HWY 25 West Suite 2 Williamsburg

A list of storm resources may be found here: https://governor.ky.gov/flood-resources

For more information about applying for benefits or finding resources in your community, please visit kynect.ky.gov.

Information on how the state is working to improve the lives and health of our people is available at CHFS.ky.gov . Follow the cabinet on Facebook , Twitter , Instagram and LinkedIn .